Home >Hospital Introduction > History of the Hospital

In 1954, the Hospital was established. It was used to be called "Zhejiang Provincial Xishan Hospital" and "Zhejiang Provincial Hangzhou No. 2 Hospital" with 64 beds initially. 


In 1956, the Hospital was formally named "Zhejiang Hospital" and was clearly defined as a cadre healthcare hospital and a designated foreign-oriented hospital with 100 beds. Patients admitted to the Hospital mainly were middle and senior cadres (with the administrative level of 14 and above), foreign guests, overseas Chinese, and intellectuals with medium professional titles. 


In 1964, the Office of the Zhejiang Province People's Committee issued the Notice on Adjustment of Patients Admitted to Zhejiang Hospital, stipulating that patients to be admitted to the Hospital should be provincial-, prefectural-, and municipal-level government officials with the administrative level of 15 and above, directors/deputy directors of CPC prefectural and municipal committees, secretaries/deputy secretaries of CPC county committees, county mayors, division directors/deputy division directors of provincial-level government organs with the administrative level of 16, division directors of specialized and municipal-level government organs, professors/associate professors at junior colleges, chief engineers/deputy chief engineers at factories and mines, senior (and above) doctors and distinguished veteran doctors of traditional Chinese medicine at provincial-level hospitals and Hangzhou No. 1 Hospital.


In 1970, the Zhejiang Hospital Committee of the Communist Party of China was established. Between November 1970 and May 1971, the Hospital stopped to receive extrinsic patients as required by the Health Office of the Production Command Group of the Zhejiang Provincial Revolutionary Committee. Mogan Mountain Clinic was supervised by the Hospital and then by Mogan Mountain Administration Bureau in 1979.



In 1971, Zhejiang Provincial Revolutionary Committee released a document to adjust the range of patients admitted to the Hospital: 1. foreign guests, central leaders, and major comrades-in-charge from other provinces who needed to come to Hangzhou for treatment. 

In 1979, the Hospital was opened to the public with 190 beds. 


In 1981, Zhejiang Province Geriatrics Laboratory was established and affiliated to the Hospital. In 1993, the Laboratory was renamed Zhejiang Province Geriatrics Research Institute. 


In 1983, the Hospital established the No. 2 Building. As a result, it had 9 inpatient wards and 250 beds. From July 1983 to February 1984, Wangjiangshan Hospital run as the branch of the Hospital. The Hospital set up a clinic at the General Office of Zhejiang Provincial People's Congress. 


In 1984, the Hospital established a clinic at the People's Government of Zhejiang Province Building, Qingfeng Clinic, and Garden Clinic (healthcare stations). 


In 1986, Zhejiang Province Cardiovascular and Cerebrovascular Diseases Prevention and Treatment Office was established and affiliated to the Hospital. In 2005, the Office was renamed Zhejiang Province Cardiovascular and Cerebrovascular Diseases Prevention and Treatment Research Center.


In 1988, the Hospital established an intensive care unit (ICU), one of the earliest comprehensive ICUs in China. 


In 1989, the Hospital became the emergency sub-center of west Hangzhou. Zhejiang Province Medical Equipment Management and Maintenance Center was established and affiliated to the Hospital. In 2004, the Center was renamed Zhejiang Province Medical Equipment Management Quality Control Center. 


In 1991, the Hospital established the No. 3 Building. As a result, it had 12 inpatient wards and 400 beds. The manning quotas increased by 100. It became the teaching base of the Shanghai University of Traditional Chinese Medicine and Zhejiang College of TCM. Zhejiang Province Hospital Management Research Center was established and affiliated to the Hospital. 


In 1994, the Hospital became a teaching hospital of the Zhejiang University. 


In 1995, the Hospital was recognized as a Grade-III Class-A hospital by the Health Department of Zhejiang Province. 


In 1997, the Hospital became a teaching hospital of the Hangzhou Normal University School of Medicine. 


In 1999, the Cardiac Rehabilitation Center of the Hospital was established. 


In 2000, the Hospital became a training base for general practitioners in Zhejiang Province. 


In 2001, the Lung Cancer Clinic Center and Sleep-disordered Breathing Clinic Center of the Hospital were established. The Hospital became a teaching hospital of medical colleges and universities in Zhejiang Province. Zhejiang Province Cadre Healthcare Center and Prevention and Treatment of Cardio-Cerebral-Vascular Disease Periodical Office were established and affiliated to the Hospital. The Hospital was awarded Zhejiang Provincial Civilized Unit and Central Healthcare Excellent Collective. 


In 2002, the Hospital became the geriatrics prevention and treatment training base of Zhejiang Province. It established a partnership with the State University of New York. 


In 2003, the Cardiac Pacing Center of the Hospital was established. The Hospital was recognized as Excellent Collective in Fighting against SARS of National Committee of the Chinese Educational, Scientific, Cultural, Medical and Sports Workers' Union. 


In 2004, the Hospital established the No. 6 Building. As a result, it had 15 inpatient wards and 500 beds. It took over the Hangzhou Ninth People's Hospital to establish a branch of the Hospital. The Blood Purification Center of the Hospital was established. It set up the No. 70 Clinic. The Zhejiang Province Medical Device-Related Adverse Event Monitoring Center was established and affiliated to the Hospital. It was awarded the National Hospital Cultural Building Excellent Collective. 


In 2005, the Department of Cardiac Macrovascular Surgery was established. Zhejiang Hospital Branch Emergency Station of Hangzhou 120 First Aid Center was established. The Hospital became the State Drug Clinical Trial Institution and a collaborative hospital of the Fuwai Hospital of Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences. 


In 2006, the Hospital newly built a comprehensive outpatient building and a cadre healthcare center building. 


In 2007, the Hospital established Baoshiyuan Clinic and Zijin Yayuan Clinic. It set up the Mechanical Ventilation and Hemodynamic Test Clinical Training Center. 


In 2008, the ICU Quality Control Center in Zhejiang Province and Thoracic Cancers Research and Guidance Center of Zhejiang Province Cancer Center were established and affiliated to the Hospital. The Hospital became a training base of Arrhythmia Diagnosis and Treatment Technologies of the Ministry of Health. 


In 2009, the No. 1 Building was renovated and the No. 8 Building was newly built, increasing the number of inpatient wards to 18 (including the ones for physical examination). The manning quotas reached 860. The Osteoporosis Diagnosis and Treatment Center of the Hospital was established.


In 2011, Zhejiang Province Geriatric Medical Center broke ground, planning to build 1,000 beds. The Hospital established the Low Vision Rehabilitation Center, Clinic for Foreign Guests, and Geriatrics Multidisciplinary Team. The Hospital was recognized as the National Civilized Unit. 


In 2012, the No. 9 Building was renovated, increasing the number of inpatient wards to 21. The Hospital established the China-US Diabetes Center with the Indiana University Hospital. It built the Hypertension Center and Rehabilitation & Treatment Center. Partnerships with the Cardinal Tien Hospital and Deutsches Herzzentrum Berlin were established. The Hospital was awarded the National Health System Excellent Collective.

In 2013, the Hospital cooperated with the People's Government of Anji County and the People's Government of Pinghu County to establish the Anji Branch and Pinghu Branch of the Zhejiang Hospital. The Heart Center of the Hospital was set up. Zhejiang Province Geriatrics Diagnosis and Treatment Guidance Center was established and affiliated to the Hospital.


In 2015, the Kaihua Branch of the Zhejiang Hospital was established.


In 2015, the Hospital passed the review and kept the honorary title of National Civilized Unit; ICU was awarded the honorary title of National Role Model Women's Group; the official WeChat account of the Hospital was recognized as Top 100 Official WeChat Accounts of Hospitals in China; Yan Jing, Director of the Hospital, received the honorary title of 2015 National Excellent Worker.


In 2016, the No. 12 Building was newly built. The Hospital completed the task to support the G20 Hangzhou Summit. The Cardiac Intervention Center of North Zhejiang and Zhejiang Province Medical Equipment Management Center were set up. The Translational Medicine Center was established. The Hospital became the first medical institution in China to cooperate with BGI Genomics to build a genetic testing laboratory for geriatrics. In November, the Hospital Management Institute of the Fudan University issued the 2015 Ranking of Disciplines with the Best Reputation among Hospitals in China. Department of Critical Care Medicine and Department of Geriatrics were nominated.


In 2017, the Hospital led the construction of the Zhejiang Geriatric Specialized Union and Zhejiang Hospital High-Level Medical Treatment Partnership System. The Hospital operated the Xihu District Hospital of Chinese and Western Medicine in the mode of "operating inpatient wards and supporting outpatient service".


On June 28, 2018, Sandun Campus (Zhejiang Province Geriatric Medical Center) was put into operation. Zhejiang Hospital had two campuses from then on.


In 2019, the Jinhua Branch of the Zhejiang Hospital was established. Integrated Lung Cancer Center (iLCC), the first in Zhejiang Province, and iLCC Demonstration Inpatient Ward were established.

1954年,医院成立。曾用名“浙江省立西山医院”、“省立杭州第二医院”。初始床位64张。


    1956年,我院正式定名为“浙江医院”,明确办院方向为干部保健医院和定点涉外医院,床位调整为100张,主要收治对象为中高级(行政14级以上)干部及外宾、华侨、中级职称知识分子。


    1964年,省人民委员会办公厅发布《关于调整浙江医院收治对象的通知》,规定住院对象为省、地、市级机关行政等级十五级以上的干部,地、市委正、副部长,县委正、副书记,正县长,省级机关十六级的正副处长,专、市级机关正处(局)长;大专学校正副教授,厂矿正副总工程师;省级医院及杭州市第一医院主任医师以上及名老中医。


    1970年,中国共产党浙江医院委员会建立。1970年11月-1971年5月期间,接省革委会生产指挥组卫生局通知,我院不对外开展诊疗工作。莫干山医务室由我院管理,1979年划归莫干山管理局管理。


    1971年,省革命委员会发文调整我院病人收治范围:1.外宾、中央首长和外省需来杭治疗的主要负责同志;2.省革委会各大组办公室副主任以上的负责同志。


    1979年,医院全面对外开放。核定病床190张。


    1981年,浙江省老年病研究室成立并挂靠我院,1993年更名为浙江省老年病研究所。


    1983年,新建2号楼,病区增至9个,核定病床250张。1983年7月至1984年2月,望江山医院为浙江医院分院。在省人大办公厅设立医务室。


    1984年,设立省府大楼医务室和庆丰、花园医务室(卫生站)。


    1986年,浙江省心脑血管病防治办公室成立并挂靠我院,2005年更名为省心脑血管病防治研究中心。


    1988年,创建ICU,为国内较早建立的综合性ICU之一。


    1989年,成为杭州市西部急救分中心。浙江省医疗设备管理维修中心成立并挂靠我院,2004年更名为浙江省医疗设备管理质量控制中心。


    1991年,新建3号楼,病区增至12个,核定病床400张。人员编制增加100名。成为上海中医院大学、浙江省中医学院教学基地。浙江省医院管理研究中心成立并挂靠我院。 


    1994年,成为浙江大学教学医院。


    1995年,经卫生厅审定,医院为三甲医院。


    1997年,成为杭州师范学院医学院教学医院。


    1999年,院心脏康复中心成立。


    2000年,成为浙江省全科医生培训基地。


    2001年,院肺癌临床诊疗中心、院睡眠呼吸障碍诊疗中心成立。成为浙江省医学高等院校教学医院。浙江省干部保健中心和《心脑血管病防治》杂志社成立并挂靠我院。被评为省文明单位和中央保健工作先进集体。


    2002年,成为浙江省老年病防治培训基地。与美国纽约州立大学建立合作关系。


    2003年,院心脏起搏中心成立。被评为全国教科文卫体工会系统抗击非典先进集体。


    2004年,新建6号楼,病区增至15个,核定病床500张。成建制接收杭州市第九人民医院成立浙江医院分院。院血液净化中心成立。设立70号医务室。浙江省医疗器械不良事件监测中心成立并挂靠我院。被评为全国医院文化建设先进集体。


    2005年,成立心脏大血管外科。杭州市120浙江医院分院急救点建立。成为国家药物临床试验机构。成为北京阜外心血管病医院协作医院。


    2006年,新建综合门诊楼和干部保健中心楼。


    2007年,设立宝石苑医务室、紫荆雅苑医务室。成立机械通气和血流动力学检测临床培训中心。


    2008年,浙江省ICU质量控制中心及浙江省癌症中心胸部肿瘤研究指导中心成立,挂靠我院。成为卫生部“心律失常诊疗技术”培训基地。


    2009年,1号楼完成改造,新建8号楼,病区增至18个(包括体检病房)。事业编制860人。院骨质疏松症诊疗中心成立。


    2011年,浙江省老年医疗中心奠基,建设床位1000张。成立低视力康复中心、外宾诊疗中心和老年病多学科团队。被评为全国文明单位。


    2012年,9号楼完成改造,病区增至21个。与美国印第安纳大学医院合作成立中美糖尿病中心。成立院高血压中心、康复治疗中心。与台湾耕莘医院、德国心脏中心建立合作关系。被评为全国卫生系统先进集体。


    2013年,分别与安吉县人民政府、平湖县人民政府合作办医,成立浙江医院安吉分院和浙江医院平湖分院。成立浙江医院心脏中心。浙江省老年病诊疗指导中心并挂靠我院。

    

    2015年,成立浙江医院开化分院。

    

    2015年,医院通过全国文明单位复评,ICU荣获“全国巾帼文明岗“荣誉称号,浙江医院官方微信号荣获”全国医院微信百强”称号,院长严静荣获2015年全国先进工作者荣誉称号。

   

    2016年,新建12号楼。圆满完成G20杭州峰会保障任务。成立浙北心脏介入中心、浙江省医学装备管理中心。成立了转化医学中心。并与华大基因共建实验室,成为国内首个与华大基因合作成立老年病基因检测实验室的医疗机构。11月,复旦大学医院管理研究所发布2015年度中国医院最佳专科声誉排行榜,重症医学科及老年医学科获得提名。